

Office of the Dean of Students Welfare Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur

(Formerly BESU, Shibpur, Estd. In 1856)

NOTICE

No: DSW/INT/26/22

Dated: 11.10.2022

This is for information of all concerned that the election of Students' Senate (for the academic year 2022-23) will be held on October 19, 2022.

The Departmental Faculty Council (DFC) will nominate one faculty member as the mentor (Professorin-charge). The last date for submission of nomination by the students to the concerned Mentor/Professor-in-charge will be 17th October, 2022 (on or before 2 p.m.) and withdrawal of nomination will be accepted till 18th October, 2022 (on or before 3 p.m.).

Every student registered with the institute is a member of Students' Academic Society of the concerned Departments/Schools/Centres. There will be one constituency from each year of undergraduate and postgraduate programme. In case of doctoral programme there will be one constituency of the Departments/Schools/Centres. Each constituency will elect one representative to the Students' Academic Society.

The executive committee of a Students' Academic Society of the Departments/Schools/Centres will comprise of the following Office Bearers as per the Article No. 10 of the Constitution of the Students' Senate.

- Mentor 1 post
- Secretary 1 post
- Assistant Secretary 1 post
- Treasurer 1 post

The students eligible for the above-mentioned posts should have minimum 75% class attendance throughout the programme. The Secretary, Assistant Secretary and Treasurer will be decided by the elected members of Students' Academic Society.

The names of the Mentor and the elected members of the Students' Academic Society should be sent to Prof. Amitava Basu Mallick, Chairman, Election Committee for Students' Senate, 2022-23 by October 19, 2022. (on or before 4 p.m.).

The executive committee of a Cultural Club/Society will comprise of the following office bearers as per the Article No. 10 of the Constitution of the Students' Senate.

- Mentor 1 post
- Secretary 1 post
- Treasurer 1 post

Professor-in-charge of the concerned Club/Society will act as the Mentor. The students eligible for the above-mentioned posts should have minimum 75% class attendance throughout the programme. The names of the Mentor and the elected members of the Students' Cultural/Club/Society should be sent to Prof. Amitava Basu Mallick, Chairman, Election Committee for Students' Senate, 2022-23 by October 19, 2022. (on or before 4 p.m.).

For further clarification or query of any you are requested to contact the Chairman, Election Committee for Students' Senate, 2022-23

Sd/(Prof. Sudipta Mukhopadhyay)
Dean of Students' Welfare, IIEST, Shibpur

Copy to:

- 1) All Deans/Associate Deans
- 2) All Heads of Departments/Schools/Centres
- 3) Registrar
- 4) Faculty-in-charge of Clubs/Societies
- 5) Chief Warden-with a request to circulate among all Hostel Wardens
- 6) Prof. Amitava Basu Mallick
- 7) Mr. Rupen Basu Mallik
- 8) Dr. Nityananda Nandi
- 9) Dr. Ananya Barui
- 10) Dr. Nanda Dulal Pal
- 11) Prof. Debasis Datta, President, Students' Senate
- 12) Dr. Chanchal Majumder, Executive President, Students' Senate
- 13) Ms. Aditi Singh, Acting GS, Students' Senate
- 14) Office of the Director
- 15) Guard File
- 16) Institute Website

5- My 10/2022

(Prof. Sudipta Mukhopadhyay) Dean of Students' Welfare, IIEST, Shibpur